Baby Stepping Fourth: Day 1

Step 4: Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves ~  Alcoholics Anonymous, 2013, p 59

Telling me that I am to do a searching moral inventory of myself is bad enough, but add the admonition to be fearless and… I get scared before I even start.

Many who relapse point a shaky finger at the 4th and link their inability to stay on track to their reluctance to do a 4th.

It’s one thing to fear the truth we may face, but it’s another to fear the process. Perhaps by taking it in small bits — baby stepping the 4th, we can reduce the dread of it. If you have just a few minutes every day to devote to the process, you can use this method to complete your 4th in just 7 days. How would it feel to be finished a week from now? I know it’s possible because the original AA’s routinely completed all 12 Steps in 6 weeks. It was designed to happen like knocking over a row of dominoes, with the momentum gaining towards the last Step and an irrepressible desire to share the miracle of recovery with anyone who would listen.

Day 1 Assignment: In the side bar is a link to the Not So Scary Resentment Worksheet of Step 4. Print several copies of both pages. Alternatively, you can get a notebook and draw your own columns using the worksheet headings.

As we go through these baby steps, please feel free to contact me using the form in the sidebar. You’ll have my prayers and encouragement. Only 6 more days to go!

