Baby Stepping Fourth: Day 6, Column 4

Assignment Day 6: In column 4, list your actions or reactions associated with column 2.

We’re looking for the responses that we’re not proud of.  At times it’s the defensive behavior we fall back on. Using anger, criticism or even withdrawing. Or it may also be the habitual attitude in this relationship before the ‘big event’ listed in the previous columns.

It might be what you did after the ‘event’ or it might be something you were doing before the event that actually triggered it. Don’t ignore expectations. Oftentimes our assumptions and expectations set a problem into motion.

Once I filled in column 4 I found that I have an arsenal of weapons: verbal attack, non-verbal hostility, deadly retorts, obvious disdain and chilly disregard, clever sniping, criticism and rants.

If those don’t satisfy, I have more in the warehouse: escapism, avoidance, behind the back attack and blogging about my thinly veiled anger of all kinds. Sometimes I even lift the veil, but thankfully, most of it never hits the blogosphere before I get over myself.

Examine what behavior you exhibited for each event from Column 2, and then list those in Column 4. In other words, what did you do? For ideas, think about your Ya Buts’. and check out Tattletale.

You’re almost done with the Step 4 Not So Scary Resentment Inventory. If you need more copies, use the link in the menu bar. If you’d like someone to contact, use the form (also in the menu bar) to write me with your questions or comments.

 The following ads are chosen by WordPress:

