Baby Stepping Fourth: Fears Part 3, Column 4

We reviewed our fears thoroughly. We put them on paper, even though we had no resentment in connection with them. We asked ourselves why we had them. Wasn’t it because self-reliance failed us? Self-reliance was good as far as it went, but it didn’t go far enough. Some of us once had great self-confidence, but it didn’t fully solve the fear problem, or any other. ~ Alcoholics Anonymous, 2013. p 68

As the textbook of AA mentions, we often apply Self to our problems and desperately hope the prison of fear unlocks. How’s this been working for you? I know exactly how often it’s worked for me. Never. Knowing that, however, still doesn’t give me what I need for column 5.

Assignment for Stepping Fourth Part 3, Column 4: List your contribution to the ongoing problems of fear in your life.

The column heading asks, How did I contribute to the problem? One of the following suggestions that I take from my own life, may shed some light:

  • Refusing to take action, denying personal responsibility
  • Trying harder or using self-discipline to force my solutions
  • Ignoring reality: denial, fantasy, pretending and escapism
  • Using self-will instead of surrendering my will to God

With each of the above mock solutions, I gave fear the key to my cell, because I was choosing to stay imprisoned. That doesn’t mean that I knew I was doing this — but I was. As my honesty increased, the doors blew open at last. If none of the above apply, use your own insight.  If you’d like,  send me suggestions for this column.

We’re almost done. The next column is the last!

The following ads are chosen by WordPress:

 
