Baby Stepping Fourth: Fears Part 3, Column 4

We reviewed our fears thoroughly. We put them on paper, even though we had no resentment in connection with them. We asked ourselves why we had them. Wasn’t it because self-reliance failed us? Self-reliance was good as far as it went, but it didn’t go far enough. Some of us once had great self-confidence, but it didn’t fully solve the fear problem, or any other. ~ Alcoholics Anonymous,  p 68

As the textbook of AA mentions, we often apply Self to our problems and desperately hope the prison of fear unlocks. How’s this been working for you? I know exactly how often it’s worked for me. Never. Knowing that, however, still doesn’t give me what I need for column 4.

Assignment for Stepping Fourth Part 3, Column 4: List your contribution to the ongoing problems of fear in your life.

The column heading asks, How did I contribute to the problem? One of the following suggestions may shed some light:

  • Refusing to take action, denying personal responsibility
  • Trying harder or using self-discipline to force my solutions
  • Ignoring reality: denial, fantasy, pretending and escapism
  • Using self-will instead of surrendering my will to God

With each of the above mock solutions, I let fear keep the key to my cell because I was choosing to stay imprisoned. That doesn’t mean that I knew I was doing this- but I was. As my honesty increased, the doors blew open at last.

We’re almost done.

For pdf version of the Not-So-Scary Fears Worksheet click here.

Stepping Fourth Fears Part 1

Stepping Fourth Fears Part 2