Step 3: Part 6 The Director

1-1003151942b (1)

Before I ever heard of Step 3, I loved directing the school play rehearsals. There was a sense of satisfaction in seeing my creative ideas take life and play out on the stage. I’ve carried that same sense of control into my life off the stage.

Bingo! There’s the problem.

It was my role to direct the kids. It wasn’t, however, my role to take care of them. They had to do that on their own: get rest, eat, do their memorizing, their homework, find transportation to school, etc. Just direct. That’s all I did.

In my life, it’s not my role to direct others. It’s my role to love them, support them by listening or helping, but it’s not my job to take care of them.

…we decided that hereafter in this drama of life, God was going to be our Director. He is the principal; we are His agents. He is the Father, and we are His children….this concept was the keystone of the new and triumphant arch through which we passed to freedom. ~ Alcoholics Anonymous, p 62

My recovery and the quality of my life, my sanity, depends on my grasp of that truth. The focus has to be me, as the actor, not the director. I have to learn to get my focus off others and connect with my Higher Power.

If I miss the keystone principle, then I forfeit peace. Without the keystone of God being my Director, I may feel powerful and in charge, but I won’t feel the serenity that I was designed for. I’ll miss the triumphant walk through the arch towards personal freedom and wholeness.

Only my Creator can bring this character to life in the performance of His choosing. He created me; He directs me.

Step 3 wisdom. It works.